Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 1083)

## RESIGNATION OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

## Resignation of Independent Non-Executive Director

The board (the "Board") of directors (the "Directors" each a "Director") of Towngas Smart Energy Company Limited (the "Company") wishes to announce that due to his other business commitments, Dr. Hu Zhang-hong ("Dr. Hu") has tendered his resignation as an independent non-executive Director and a member of the nomination committee of the Company with effect from 9 March 2022.

Dr. Hu has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and there are no matters relating to his resignation that need to be brought to the attention to the shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to express its sincere gratitude to Dr. Hu for his valuable support and contributions to the Company during his tenure of service.

## Non-Compliance with the Listing Rules in relation to Board Composition

Following the resignation of Dr. Hu, the total number of independent non-executive Directors accounts for less than one-third of the Board members, and hence the Company fails to meet the requirement of Rule 3.10A of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules"). The Board will ensure that the Company will appoint a sufficient number of independent non-executive Directors to meet the minimum number as required under Rule 3.10A of the Listing Rules within three months from 9 March 2022 in accordance with the Listing Rules and will make further announcement(s) where appropriate.

By Order of the Board

Towngas Smart Energy Company Limited

John Ho Hon-ming

Executive Director and Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 9 March 2022

## As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises:

Non-Executive Directors: Independent Non-Executive Directors:

LEE Ka-kit (Chairman)

LIU Kai Lap Kenneth

Brian David LI Man-bun
James KWAN Yuk-choi

Executive Directors:

Alfred CHAN Wing-kin
Peter WONG Wai-yee (Chief Executive Officer)
John HO Hon-ming (Company Secretary)
Martin KEE Wai-ngai (Chief Operating Officer – Gas Business)
John QIU Jian-hang (Chief Operating Officer – Renewable Business)